Florida Auto Insurance Requirements
Reviewed by Dr. Christine Berry
Drivers in Florida are required to be covered by a current auto insurance policy. Minimum auto insurance coverage requirements in Florida are mandated by state law and the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. The following minimum coverage is required on every registered vehicle, except as noted below:
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles is authorized to suspend your driving privilege, including your vehicle license plate and registration, for up to three years or until proof of Florida insurance is provided, whichever is first. A reinstatement fee of $150 up to $500, for subsequent violations, must be paid and you must provide proof of current Florida insurance.
The Florida Automobile Joint Underwriting Association (FAJUA) is available to drivers who are unable to obtain required coverage through the voluntary market. More information is available on the FAJUA website or by calling 850-681-2003.
Factors Influencing Car Insurance Premiums in Florida
Finding cheap car insurance in Florida takes some legwork and research, but it helps that Florida ranks below the national average for car insurance costs. Floridians pay higher-than-average insurance premiums, and these are a few of the factors responsible for that:
- State-mandated weather / storm related assessments add a burden to every auto insurance policy
- The Insurance Research Council estimates that as many as 24% of Florida drivers don’t have insurance
- Compared to other states, Florida has a high rate of insurance fraud, especially in urban areas like Tampa and Miami.
According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average auto insurance premium for residents in Florida is $1,006, making it one of the most expensive states in the country.
Tips for Obtaining Cheap Car Insurance in Florida
- Defensive driving courses for those over 55 years of age may provide premium discounts
- Some insurance companies offer “pay as you drive” car insurance for low mileage drivers in Florida
- Don’t pay for coverage you really don’t need. Consider whether it’s worth it to pay for collision or comprehensive. If your car is paid off and several years old, it might not be worth the cost.
- Compare insurance quotes from local agents as well as online national companies.
- When shopping for insurance, ask about bundling discounts. Keep this in mind from the start; don’t wait until you’ve already selected a car insurance company.
– Auto Theft: Florida’s auto theft rate is above the national average, but this rate has been dramatically decreasing over the past 10 years. This can be attributed primarily to anti-theft devices being standard on recent model cars, as well as public awareness of the issue.
(Source: Florida Department of Law Enforcement; U.S. Census Bureau)
– Automobile Accidents: The total vehicle miles traveled in Florida have declined in recent years, and following a nationwide trend, so have accident fatality rates. 2009 saw a significant decrease in the number of deaths in Florida motor vehicle accidents, and this trend continued in 2010.
Enter your Zip Code below to find Cheap Car Insurance in Florida.
|Florid a Department of Law Enforcement|