Hawaii Auto Insurance Requirements
Reviewed by Dr. Christine Berry
Drivers in Hawaii are required to be covered by a current auto insurance policy. Minimum auto insurance coverage requirements in Hawaii are mandated by state law and the Department of Commerce, Insurance Division. The following minimum coverage is required on every registered vehicle, except as noted below:
Driving without the mandatory liability insurance in Hawaii can result in heavy fines of at least $500 for a first offense and a minimum of $1,500 for each subsequent offense that occurs within a five-year period, a driver’s license and registration suspension for up to three months and reinstatement fees. A judge may grant community service in lieu of fines.
Factors Influencing Car Insurance Premiums in Hawaii
Finding cheap car insurance in Hawaii takes some legwork and research, but it helps that Hawaii ranks below the national average for car insurance costs. While many factors go into underwriting auto insurance, Hawaii insurance consumers enjoy market conditions that positively impact car insurance quotes and rates. Hawaii insurance rates are not influenced tremendously by urban vs. rural factors due to the size and location of the state (and outer islands).
The average auto insurance premium for residents in Hawaii is $786, making it one of the 20 most expensive states for car insurance.
Hawaii Statistics Relevant to Auto Insurance
Auto Theft: Hawaii’s auto theft rate is above the national average, but this rate has been decreasing somewhat in the past few years. This can be attributed primarily to anti-theft devices being standard on recent model cars, as well as public awareness of the issue.
– Automobile Accidents: The total vehicle miles traveled in Hawaii have remained fairly constant in recent years, as have accident fatality rates.
Enter your Zip Code below to find Cheap Car Insurance in Hawaii.