Car Insurance in Kansas

Posted & filed under States.

Kansas QuarterKansas Auto Insurance Requirements
Reviewed by Dr. Christine Berry

Kansas has strict auto insurance laws for both private and commercial vehicle owners. Minimum auto insurance coverage requirements in Kansas are mandated by state law and the Kansas Insurance Department. The following minimum coverage is required on every registered vehicle, except as noted below:

Table detailing minimum car insurance coverage requirements in the state of Kansas(Source: Kansas Department of Insurance)

Driving without the mandatory liability insurance in Kansas is a class “B” misdemeanor for the first offense, and could result in a $300 to $1,000 fine, suspension of driving privileges, and even jail time. Subsequent offenses are classed as “A” misdemeanors and subject to a fine not less than $800 and up to $2,500.

The Kansas Automobile Insurance Plan is available to drivers who are unable to obtain required coverage through the voluntary market. More information is available on the AIPSO website.

Factors Influencing Car Insurance Premiums in Kansas

Getting a quote for cheap car insurance in Kansas requires some research and rate comparisons between different insurance companies, even though Kansas ranks below national averages for car insurance costs. Some factors that impact insurance rates in Kansas include:

– Kansas is a “no-fault” state, and require extensive PIP insurance coverage
– UM / UIM coverage is mandatory
– Vehicle repair costs are generally less expensive in Kansas than elsewhere
– Overall accident fatality rates are lower than national averages
– A slightly lower percentage of uninsured drivers compared to national averages

The average yearly auto insurance premium for Kansas residents is $578.

Tips for Obtaining Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas

– Take a state-approved accident prevention course. Drivers over age 55 who pass one of these courses will receive an insurance discount between 5% and 15%.
– Some insurance companies offer “pay as you drive” car insurance for low mileage drivers in Kansas
– If you have teenagers, report them as “occasional” drivers or cover them under a family auto policy and assign them to the lowest valued vehicle
– If you carpool, you may be able to get a discount
– Ask about discounts for airbags, anti-lock braking systems, and anti-theft devices
– Check out the Kansas Department of Insurance’s list of tips for lowering your insurance cost in Kansas

Kansas Statistics

Auto Theft: While most other states have seen a steady decline in auto theft over the past two decades, Kansas’ motor vehicle theft rate has remained fairly consistent.  The number of stolen cars in Kansas has decreased slightly in recent years, but still does not demonstrate the drastic decline seen in most other states.

Table showing number of stolen cars in Kansas, total and per capita, from 1990 to 2010Kansas per capita motor vehicle theft from 1990 to 2010Chart showing total number of stolen cars in Kansas over the past 20 years(Source: Kansas Bureau of Investigation; U.S. Census Bureau)

Automobile Accidents: The total vehicle miles traveled in Kansas has remained fairly constant in recent years, as has the vehicle accident fatality rate. Kansas is above the national average in numbers of deaths in car crashes.

Table showing auto fatality rate in Kansas from 2006 to 2010(Source: National Highway Traffic Safety Administration)

Enter your Zip Code below to find Cheap Car Insurance in Kansas.